General information

An important purpose of this website is to help ensure that colour ringing schemes do not overlap. Overlapping schemes can compromise important scientific research and must be avoided.

Before starting a new scheme, ringers MUST first speak with the co-ordinator for that species. It is not sufficient to merely look at the website and pick a colour combination that appears to be free.

Following this process is obligatory for all ringers across all European countries.  

Dear project leader

Before starting a colour-ring project, you need to have (see also EURING-guidelines):

· a permission from your ringing station to ring birds (metal ring).
· a permission from your ringing station to colour-ring birds (colour ring).
. a permission from the agreed cr-coordinators (see list below) for the colours and codes to be used. (in absence of a coordinator, you can contact me)
· mailing me your project to be added to the European colour-ring Birding website.
· after this you can order your colour-rings (see colour-ring supplier).
. reporting regularly to the field-observer (this will be mentioned with your project on this website) and (which is an obligation) reporting your information to the Ringing Unit of your country.
On the EURING-website you can find the list of these institutes belonging to and agreed by EURING. It is the coercive task for the colour-ringer/projectleader to report his project(s) and resightings to his national scheme. This is a legal requirement and condition of being issued with a license to colour-ring birds.

EURING – guidelines on the use of colour markings
In order to increase coordination between projects and to get all the information to the central database, ringing schemes need to handle permissions for colour ringing more strictly:

- before using colour-rings a national ringing permit and the agreement of the national ringing scheme is needed.
- only use colour-rings as additional marking to the official rings of the national ringing scheme.
- ringing schemes should issue colour ringing permits only after coordination with other projects has been assured.
- EURING is on the way to find coordinators for all species (species group). This coordinator has to be contacted before starting a colour-ring program. The coordinators in close cooperation with the national ring scheme give the ring (colours, code) combinations to the ringers.
- in an area there should be only a single project for each species to make it easier for observers to report the rings to the right projects.
- ringing schemes should issue and prolong colour ringing permits on the condition that the ringer sends in all information about ringing and resightings to the scheme.
- ringing schemes should store all the sightings in their central database.
- the most important thing is that you NEVER start a colour ringing programme before being certain that nobody has used the same colour and code combination.

note from ‘European colour-ring Birding’.
- due to some cases of misusing my trust, correspondence about a new scheme will be done with the national ringing scheme into cc-mails.    
- if a not registered cr-project is announced to the European colour-ring Birding website, it will be mentioned with a severe remark. In a next stage it will be banned.  

Agreed coordinators for all species. (dd. 01/07/2013)
(in an agreement between EURING, IWSG, GSG and European colour-ring Birding).
(in absence of a coordinator, contact cr-birding@skynet.be

 

* All geese species :
Berend Voslamber : berend.voslamber@sovon.nl
At the Goose Specialist Group Meeting in Höllviken (2009), Berend Voslamber was chosen to coordinate the colour marking scheme for all geese species.

* Waders :
IWSG Colour Mark Coordinator : colourmark@waderstudygroup.org
This coordinator is working with sub-coordinators (so called SPEX).

* Gulls :
- large gulls :
Peter Rock : pete.rock@blueyonder.co.uk

- small gulls :
Kjeld Pedersen : ktpedersen@snm.ku.dk OR ktpedersen@mail.dk

- Mediterranean Gull :
Kjeld Pedersen, in cooperation with Renaud Flamant : renaud.Flamant@skynet.be

- Black-legged Kittiwake :
Jez Blackburn : jez.blackburn@bto.org

* Terns :
- Roseate Tern :
Dr Stephen Newton : snewton@birdwatchireland.ie

- all tern species, except Little Tern on continental EU :
Derick Hiemstra : derick@upcmail.nl

- Little Tern.
Yosef Kiat, Israeli Bird Ringing Center : ibrc@inter.net.il

- Sandwich Tern in the UK :
Alistair Smith : sannietern@tiscali.co.uk>

* Ducks :
- for nose-saddles :
David Rodrigues : drodrigues@mail.esac.pt

- for non nose-saddles :
Richard Hearn : Richard.Hearn@wwt.org.uk

* Lesser Spotted Eagle :
Urmas Sellis : urmas@kotkas.ee

* Eurasian Griffon Vulture :
Alvaro Camiña Cardenal : alvaro.camina.cardenal@gmail.com
(Chairman of the Eurasian Griffon Vulture Working Group since 2005 and Secretary of the Vulture Conservation Foundation)

* Eurasian Coot :
Kane Brides : kanebrides@gmail.com

* Black Stork :
Eniko Anna Tamas : cr.blackstorks@gmail.com
skype : et-baja-hu

* European Roller :
Patrick Mayet : pmayet@gmail.com

Peregrine Falcon in the EU :
Didier Vangeluwe : Didier.Vangeluwe@naturalsciences.be

* Peregrine Falcon in the UK :
Jez Blackburn, Demography Team, BTO, UK : jez.blackburn@bto.org

* all Shrike -species :
Octavio Infante : octavio.infante@gmail.com

* House Sparrow :
Benjamin Vollot : benjamin-vollot@orange.fr

* European Greenfinch :
Marcin Faber : info@colour-rings.eu

* Cyprus Wheatear :
Marina Xenophontos : marina_xenophontos@hotmail.com) and Will Creswell wrlc@st-and.ac.uk

* European Turtle Dove :
Jenny Dunn : Jenny.Dunn@rspb.org.uk p>

* Harriers in Spain :
Toribio Alvarez : naturex1@gmail.com

* Snowbunting :
Quentin Dupriez : dupriez.quentin@gmail.com

* Raven :
Matthias-Claudio Loretto : c.corax@m-loretto.com

*  

 

 

Jez Blackburn, Demography Team, BTO, UK : jez.blackburn@bto.org

 

 

--> Interested to become a species coordinator

contact European colour-ring Birding cr-birding@skynet.be

In agreement with the mentioned institutes, the coordinator will be designated.